Paleo Based Diet Basics (And How Vegetarians Can Adapt Them)
Many fitness and health experts have pointed to the paleo diet (Caveman diet) as the perfect source of a long, healthy life.
So accordingly, some vegetarians are wondering if they can incorporate a paleo-based diet to their nutritional and personal beliefs.
To see if this is possible, let's take a look at a couple of relative definitions.
According to PaleoDiet.com, the paleo principle to nutrition constitutes ...
"The optimum diet for the human animal based on the
nutritional requirements established during its evolutionary path to its present form (the modern homo sapiens). The biologically appropriate diet."
A vegetarian is described as someone who ...
"... lives on a diet of grains, pulses, nuts, seeds, vegetables and fruits with, or without, the use of dairy products and eggs.
A vegetarian does not eat any meat, poultry, game, fish, shellfish or by-products of slaughter."
That definition comes from The Vegetarian Society of the United Kingdom.
What Foods Are Eaten on the Paleo Diet?
Here is where it gets tricky for the vegetarian. Paleo practitioners are allowed to eat the following items only ...
Nuts and seeds
Fresh fruits and vegetables
Some oils, such as avocado, coconut, flaxseed and olive oil
Fish and seafood
Vegetarians would never consider eating any type of meat, fish or seafood.
So if you want to benefit from the paleo diet as a vegetarian, simply remove those foods. There are a lot of areas where vegetarians and Paleo dieters agree.
For instance nuts, seeds, vegetables, fruits and some oils are agreed as "okay" foods for vegetarians and followers of the paleo diet.
However, the caveman diet outlaws cereal grains, dairy, legumes to include peanuts, potatoes, processed foods, salt and refined sugar.
These foods were not available to our paleo ancestors, thus they are not allowed in this particular diet plan.
Lacto-vegetarians approve dairy products but not the consumption of eggs. Ovo-vegetarians agree with paleo practitioners where eating eggs is concerned.
The most common type of vegetarian (lacto-ovo-vegetarian) eats eggs and dairy products. The vegan eats no dairy products, or any other type of animal-based food.
Wherever you fall on the vegetarian scale, it is possible to incorporate a paleo diet practice. Eating like paleo ancestors means eating as human beings have done for 99% of our existence.
Just remember, whatever your nutritional outlook, you don't necessarily need to fit into a particular dietary box.
Exercise, drink plenty of fluids and eat healthy foods, and you will be healthy.
Learn more here about diet review low carb diet guide
If you would like to learn more about healthy ways to lose weight, and about the natural supplements that I recommend and use myself, just drop me a line here and you'll get a free consultation with Warren Tattersall... CONTACT ME - no obligation, we'll just have a chat about your weight and health goals and the best ways you can achieve them while improving your overall health.